Happy New Year to All!

New Year’s is always a time to look back at the year past and forward towards the year ahead.   When I think about the last year I like to focus on what all I accomplished.  Each of those accomplishments had its own feats and was a journey in its own way.  In my reflection of last year the items which I am the most proud of include: traveling through Europe in the spring, working at the nursing home and also getting my 1st ever job at a hospital, and  becoming Miss Heart of the Lakes 2011.  When I think about the year ahead I set high goals for myself and where I hope to be next year at this same time.  Each year this list may be a little too lofty and have too many items or items that will be impossible to complete and focus on this year.  What I hope to accomplish is to at least give each item some time, whether I get all that I wanted to accomplished or only take a few days or hours incorporate something new in my life both are a form of success in my book.  Many times I know when I talk to my family or friends they simply create a list of resolutions and then when things get difficult and change they cross items off all together.  While there is a time when your life may changes and different goals become more realistic or feasible, it is understandable that these goals might change.  The challenge that I will ask of everyone is that maybe this year you will not simply cross off an item if it becomes seemingly obsolete in your life, but rather just downgrade your ultimate goal in that item so you are not eliminating it from your resolutions completely.  Each item that makes your list should be an important one.

Here is a list of some of my New Year’s Resolutions- Maybe some of these are items which you want to add to your own list J

1)      Laugh more often- It is easy for me to get bogged down with the seriousness of everyday life but laughter enhances even the tensest situations and opens up the mind. 

2)      Increase my number of volunteer hours for Breast Cancer Research – speak in schools and publicly about the cause as well as plan a large fundraising event to donate directly towards research. 

3)      Work on my physical fitness- Yes, this is what everyone typically has on their list but it is more about lifestyle changes to become healthier and respect my body.  It will also help in the lifestyle and fitness in swimsuit competition in June.

4)      Prepare for Miss Minnesota- this means just working on being the best Miss Heart of the Lakes I can be and being the best that I can be.  This may seem cheesy but that competition will just come down to a competition against me and it is the same with each contestant.  I hope to prepare to work towards the dream job of being Miss Minnesota but that will come through developing my own passion in life. 

5)      Make new friends- This should be easy I hope.  I have already met so many amazing and inspiring people through the Miss America Organization and hope to take every opportunity I can in the next year to meet and connect to as many people as possible whether at events or even just the grocery store. 

Blessings in the New Year,

-Caitlyn 




Leave a Reply.